Categories


Tags

YouthFamilyMenCounsellingLegalEthnicDisabilityElderMaoriEducationParentingCoordinationChildrenWomenSexual ViolenceCrisis


Archive

Coercive control & domestic abuse - Two part webinar series

September 04, 2020 at 12:27 PM

From the NZFVC 

DATES & TIMES

  • Tuesday 29 September 2020, 6-7.30pm, NZDT (4-5.30pm, AEDT).
    Webinar 1: Understanding coercive control
  • Tuesday 6 October 2020, 11.30am-1pm, NZDT (9.30-11am, AEDT).
    Webinar 2: Criminalising coercive control - Key considerations and practical realities

LOCATION

Online (Australia based).

ORGANISED BY

The Hatchery.

COST

From A$100 per webinar.

Coercive control is often described by family violence victims as the worst part of abuse. Patterns of controlling behaviour and psychological abuse are known predictors or precursors of domestic homicide. The responses from practitioners to victims and people who use violence are critical in breaking the cycle of violence and protecting the safety of victims.

Register for this event

This two part webinar series will unpack the need to know information for practitioners and managers working in the family violence sector to inform a better understanding of the key issues, social and legal contexts of coercive control. Guided by the expertise of two facilitators, you will gain an in-depth insight into what coercive control is and how to recognise it, the arguments for and against the criminalisation of coercive control and what the evidence says about criminalising coercive control in practice.

Speakers:

Webinar 1: Clare Walker, Domestic Abuse Consultant, Clare Walker Consulting

Webinar 2: Emeritus Professor Jude McCulloch, Monash University.

See the website for more information.

VISIT EVENT WEBSITE

 



Category: Events